Go Back   Zune Boards > General Discussions > The Archives

The Archives Classic threads from more simple times.

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-04-2007, 08:48 PM   #1
ben3308
Zuner
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 55
ben3308 has disabled reputation
Default [SOLVED] Zune freezes while changing tracks! Help!

Okay, so today when I turned my Zune on, it froze on me while playing a song, then died. I assumed this was just because I'd exhausted my battery; so no problem, I plugged it in and everything went fine.

Well later in the day when I was going through to see what songs I'd synced (I played every song alphabetically in the Zune's "songs" section for about 10 seconds each), I noticed switching between songs got slower and slower.

Naturally, I assumed I was just overwhelming the processor and the HD, and it couldn't catch up to me flipping back and forth so quickly. Well tonight, after syncing and then unplugging the device to listen to some tunes, I find it frezing up for about 45 seconds EVERY TIME I try to go to the next track in a playlist. Things like audio options and "show song list" in the submenu also lag.

Anybody have ANY idea what's going on? I mean, this is rendering listening to any music whatsoever completely useless, so can anyone tell me: what's the deal here?



ben3308 is offline  

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

Old 02-06-2007, 09:33 AM   #2
Gow
RIP 2007-2011
Retired Admin
Premium Member
Expert Zuner
 
Gow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Fort Wayne, IN, USA
Posts: 3,347
Gow has a brilliant futureGow has a brilliant futureGow has a brilliant futureGow has a brilliant futureGow has a brilliant futureGow has a brilliant futureGow has a brilliant futureGow has a brilliant future
Send a message via AIM to Gow Send a message via MSN to Gow Send a message via Skype™ to Gow
Default Re: Zune freezes while changing tracks! Help!

Some more details would be nice. Like what audio codec you are using and at what bitrate. How many songs? How many videos? How much free space? Have you tried a format and resync? Et Cetera.



Gow is offline  

Old 02-06-2007, 12:22 PM   #3
lpxxfaintxx
Retired Staff
Ultimate Zuner
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Fullerton, CA
Posts: 5,906
lpxxfaintxx is a name known to alllpxxfaintxx is a name known to alllpxxfaintxx is a name known to alllpxxfaintxx is a name known to all
Default Re: Zune freezes while changing tracks! Help!

Try resetting your Zune. (Back and Up) See if that helps.




lpxxfaintxx is offline  

Old 02-06-2007, 02:48 PM   #4
ben3308
Zuner
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 55
ben3308 has disabled reputation
Default Re: Zune freezes while changing tracks! Help!

Sorry, I was a little shrot on the details. All my videos are from the ZB movie database, save some of my own short films, all are at their respective appropriate bitrates. I don't have those specifics now, cause I've deleted the source files themselves from my computer.

Most songs have bitrates of 128kbps or 192kbps, and until I added "The Departed" to my Zune (again, downloaded from the ZB database), everything ran fine. One possibility is the addition of the song "Roll to Me", which I acquired via torrent, the first song of mine to be had by such means. (I use Ares and the like)

I find myself resetting the Zune almost every other time I turn it on, as it freezes during the 'zoom' transition when I click a song to start playing. Videos, on the other hand, play just fine.

I've deleted all my music (not the videos, as I don't have enough computer HD space to back 'em up") off of my Zune and tried only re-syncing a certain amount of songs on a playlist, and this still proved to no avail.

Anything other information that would be beneficial that I can provide I'm more than willing to offer. I'd really like to see this resolved.

Thanks everyone.



ben3308 is offline  

Old 02-06-2007, 04:45 PM   #5
PityOnU
Super Zuner
 
PityOnU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: In the real world
Posts: 1,986
PityOnU is a jewel in the roughPityOnU is a jewel in the rough
Send a message via AIM to PityOnU Send a message via MSN to PityOnU Send a message via Yahoo to PityOnU
Default Re: Zune freezes while changing tracks! Help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by ben3308
Sorry, I was a little shrot on the details. All my videos are from the ZB movie database, save some of my own short films, all are at their respective appropriate bitrates. I don't have those specifics now, cause I've deleted the source files themselves from my computer.

Most songs have bitrates of 128kbps or 192kbps, and until I added "The Departed" to my Zune (again, downloaded from the ZB database), everything ran fine. One possibility is the addition of the song "Roll to Me", which I acquired via torrent, the first song of mine to be had by such means. (I use Ares and the like)

I find myself resetting the Zune almost every other time I turn it on, as it freezes during the 'zoom' transition when I click a song to start playing. Videos, on the other hand, play just fine.

I've deleted all my music (not the videos, as I don't have enough computer HD space to back 'em up") off of my Zune and tried only re-syncing a certain amount of songs on a playlist, and this still proved to no avail.

Anything other information that would be beneficial that I can provide I'm more than willing to offer. I'd really like to see this resolved.

Thanks everyone.
I'm no expert, but it sounds as though your RAM isn't clearing itself (is this even possible?).

On top of not being sure if that's what the problem is, I also have no idea how to fix it

Sorry, at least it bumped your thread, though



PityOnU is offline  

Old 02-07-2007, 05:20 AM   #6
rutger1413
Jr. Zuner
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 46
rutger1413 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Zune freezes while changing tracks! Help!

Do a restore from the menu. See if that works.



rutger1413 is offline  

Old 02-08-2007, 04:21 PM   #7
stealth3sx
Zewbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 6
stealth3sx has disabled reputation
Default Re: Zune freezes while changing tracks! Help!

My Zune did the same thing. Worked fine for about a month, and now its super slow. Everysong takes like 3-5 seconds to load, and each song skips for the first 20 seconds...I had to call Microsoft, and they are sending me a new one. So far i wish I had bought an ipod.



stealth3sx is offline  

Old 02-09-2007, 12:30 PM   #8
ben3308
Zuner
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 55
ben3308 has disabled reputation
Default Re: Zune freezes while changing tracks! Help!

Whoa, really? I think I'm gonna call MS. Interestingly, the problem is worse when I try to go back one track rather than forwards, and it's not as bad on more recently synced songs. Could this be because when something new is added or played, it's 'fresher' in the RAM than the old items?



ben3308 is offline  

Old 01-29-2008, 07:44 PM   #9
saab900
Super Zuner
 
saab900's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kickin it on the east coast
Posts: 1,606
saab900 is a jewel in the roughsaab900 is a jewel in the rough
Default

Its not a matter of Ram or memory or all that jazz, its Firmware 2.3 I did not add or remove anything since the 2.3 update and I have gone from quick seamless operation(2.2 i think) to freezing or stuttering as I cal it, atleast once a day.




saab900 is offline  

Old 01-29-2008, 09:48 PM   #10
sowhatu
Jr. Member
 
sowhatu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: hamilton, ontario
Posts: 358
sowhatu is on a distinguished road
Default

could the zune Hard Drive be fragmented badly??

cause it is.... a hard drive....

if so, how do u defrag the zune HD?

Last edited by sowhatu; 01-29-2008 at 09:48 PM. Reason: more info




sowhatu is offline  

Old 01-30-2008, 08:51 AM   #11
scrizz
Jr. Member
 
scrizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Brandon, FL
Posts: 415
scrizz is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Skype™ to scrizz
Default

i don't know about defragmenting the zune hd, but you could try erasing it and then putting the content back on.




scrizz is offline  

Old 01-30-2008, 05:51 PM   #12
nal_ra
Squirt
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 27
nal_ra is on a distinguished road
Default

happens to me too, but thru having zune since day 1,
i think microsoft makes a lot of a bit faulty ones...
had to exchange my zune 3 times.
anyhow, try and contact them, and see how it works out!



nal_ra is offline  

Old 01-30-2008, 05:54 PM   #13
CameleonMK
ShakableParrot
Retired Staff
Ultimate Zuner
 
CameleonMK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: VA
Posts: 5,550
CameleonMK has a spectacular aura aboutCameleonMK has a spectacular aura about
Send a message via AIM to CameleonMK
Default

Odd how that never happened to me. I think it has something to do with the 3 original colors.





CameleonMK is offline  

Old 02-01-2008, 12:52 PM   #14
spiceNurlife
Zewbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: MIAMI
Posts: 7
spiceNurlife is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to spiceNurlife
Default

My Zune Did The Exact Same Thing. When Skipping Thru The Tracks It Would Freexe For A Bout 5 Minutes, Then It Will Start Playing Again. And It Seem Like Everytime I Did That It Would Freeze Even Longer. Until 1 Night It Would Not Come Back On. I Even Tried To Charge It. Nothing. Its A Good Thing I Had My Warentee. It Took It Back And Got A New One And Its Working Fine So Far.




spiceNurlife is offline  

Old 02-01-2008, 02:59 PM   #15
jackluo923
Senior Zuner
 
jackluo923's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Greater Vancouver BC
Posts: 1,245
jackluo923 has a spectacular aura aboutjackluo923 has a spectacular aura about
Send a message via MSN to jackluo923
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CameleonMK View Post
Odd how that never happened to me. I think it has something to do with the 3 original colors.
It never happend to me too. I'm using a black referbished zune 30 bought in Canadian retail store.




jackluo923 is offline  

Old 02-01-2008, 07:48 PM   #16
sowhatu
Jr. Member
 
sowhatu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: hamilton, ontario
Posts: 358
sowhatu is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jackluo923 View Post
It never happend to me too. I'm using a black referbished zune 30 bought in Canadian retail store.
same here, i got mine at "XS Cargo" in hamilton, ontario.

never had a problem with it (knock on wood).

paid $130.00 for it, and worth every penny.

used it several times already as a hard drive to transfer well over 100 movies and tv shows.




sowhatu is offline  

Old 02-01-2008, 09:11 PM   #17
thehollywood
Zuner
 
thehollywood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 56
thehollywood has disabled reputation
Default

A long time ago, back before the 2.0 firmware I had a similiar problem. It was very frustrating, but eventually it went away and my Zune is working fine now. I to this day don't understand what exactly was happening, I think maybe I bumped it/dropped it at one point?



thehollywood is offline  

Old 02-19-2008, 05:28 AM   #18
cariyawa
Zewbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2
cariyawa is on a distinguished road
Default Same problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by saab900 View Post
Its not a matter of Ram or memory or all that jazz, its Firmware 2.3 I did not add or remove anything since the 2.3 update and I have gone from quick seamless operation(2.2 i think) to freezing or stuttering as I cal it, atleast once a day.
Yes. I bought a brand new zune, before two weeks ago that they come with new firmware 2.3. After upgrading to 2.3 I faced the same problem. Then I downgraded to 1.4(because I couldn't find 2.2 which works fine for me) and now it is working like a charm. So I am sure that it is not a problem of RAM or hard drive fragmentation.



cariyawa is offline  

 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
no new posts